Scottish Scenic Routes shortlist announced

Add to Scrapbook

The first stage judging for the third group of design competitions to be built as part of the widely acclaimed Scottish Scenic Routes initiative is now complete, with 11 entries shortlisted for further development.

The shortlisted entrants are as follows:


Benni Allan

Angus Ritchie & Daniel Tyler

Fergus Davis

Devil’s Elbow

Ben Weir

Daniel Smith & Philip Zoechbauer

Matthew Gibbs, Daniel Sweeting & Joseph Chilvers (OHF Studio)

Ruairidh C. Moir (BARD)


Sharon Chatterton & Ross Melbourne

Antonis Papamichael, Ryan Cook & Jamie Irving

Angus Ritchie & Daniel Tyler

Alex Scott-Whitby & Michael Eleftheriou (Scott-Whitby Studio)


In total, some 72 proposals were received for projects at three different locations: one just north of Fort William and a short distance from the A82 on the ‘Road to the Isles’ (A830) on land owned by Scottish Canals, whilst the other two sites are within the Cairngorms National Park adjacent to the A93 and A939 respectively. Shortlisted entrants now have until 25 September to submit their developed proposals with final judging taking place during the following week. Winners will be announced on 30 September 2015. Winning projects are scheduled for construction by 31 March 2016.

Feedback on first stage proposals has been provided to the shortlisted participants, with one-to-one advice sessions on specific aspects such as cost, delivery, landscape and structural design (to ensure each project’s financial and technical robustness) scheduled to take place prior to further design development. Each of the shortlisted individuals/teams will be awarded £1000 to develop their proposals, with the final winner for each site receiving a prize of £5000.

Scroll to top