RIAS Accreditation Scheme

Add to Scrapbook

In collaboration with the Royal Incorporation of Architects Scotland, an accreditation scheme has been developed and piloted.

With Sust support, the RIAS successfully completed a pilot in sustainable building design accreditation in 2004. This scheme developed from an idea floated by Gaia Research in 2000 as part of their DTI sponsored Sustainable Construction CPD project (www.gaiagroup.org).

In 2003/4, ‘Sust.: The Lighthouse on Sustainability’, supported the development of a pilot accreditation scheme. The scheme allows architects who have a proven track record in sustainable design to have their experience and skills independently endorsed.

The accreditation scheme recognises four levels of skill based in built work, with the special star* recognition of innovation within each level. Accreditation remains in place for 5 years, subject to upgrading or renewal.

Applicants are required to provide evidence of their career, qualifications and specialist areas of knowledge or activity; and a range of project work/case studies. These are assessed by independent peer review.

Sust developed an Exhibition for the launch of the scheme, which took place at the Scottish Parliament in February 2005.

Further information on the eligibility for accreditation, the application form and guidance notes, and a full list of accredited architects can be found on the RIAS website.

The list of Accredited Architects in Sustainable Architecture can be found here.



The six specified criteria that architects should demonstrate are:

1. Designing for Effective Resource use
2. Minimising Pollution
3. Supporting Communities
4. Promoting Biodiversity
5. Creating Healthy Environments
6. Managing the Build Process

Materials Library Online Resource

A new online sustainable materials resource for construction professionals, architects, builders and home owners has been launched.

Scroll to top